Home / News / Oasis team up with National Album Day for new lyric video for ‘Listen Up’

Oasis team up with National Album Day for new lyric video for ‘Listen Up’

Oasis team up with National Album Day for new lyric video for ‘Listen Up’

Oasis team up with National Album Day for new lyric video for ‘Listen Up’

Oasis have teamed up with National Album Day to celebrate that their era-defining first two albums, ‘Definitely Maybe’ and ‘What’s The Story (Morning Glory)?’ are the top two most streamed albums of the 1990s with ‘What’s The Story (Morning Glory)?’ at number one and ‘Definitely Maybe’ at two.  

For today’s National Album Day celebrations, the brand new lyric video for ‘Listen Up’, the incredible B-side to ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’ - taken from the forthcoming 25th Anniversary Edition of Oasis’ iconic B-sides album ‘The Masterplan’, is available to view exclusively below for 24 hours.



Steve Wright will host the countdown of top 40 most streamed albums from the 1990s during his BBC Radio 2 show this coming Saturday 14th between 1pm and 3pm where both Noel & Liam Gallagher will share their thoughts on what it means to them to hold the two top spots with Oasis’ first two albums, as the station celebrates National Album Day by playing 90s tracks across the day and featuring music from special National Album Day record releases. Commenting on ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory? being number 1 Noel Gallagher says:

“I'm thrilled, but I wouldn't say I was that surprised that ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’ has been voted the most streamed album of the 90s - I still do have my faith in the taste of people in this country. I mean if you’ve got Wonderwall and Don’t Look Back In Anger on an album, you’re gonna be all right aren’t ya… For certain people, it’ll be bringing back memories of their youth in the 90s and that brilliantly amazing decade we all lived through and then for the young people coming to it now, the songs deal with just the universal truths of life, and they will always be timeless... You know, of love and loss and heartbreak and friendship and the weather. All the universal things that we that we live through on a day-to-day basis that we don't really notice. So thanks to everybody.” 

Originally released in 1994 as the B-side to ‘Cigarettes & Alcohol’, ‘Listen Up’ has gone on to become one of the bands most popular B-sides. Talking about the track within the liner notes of ‘Definitely Maybe’ from the ‘Chasing The Sun’ reissues in 2014, Noel said:

"I like the line, 'I don't believe in magic, cos life is automatic.' I think it means something but I'm not quite sure what... I don't really sit and write B-sides, I just write songs in my spare time. Then I kind of pick the best ones for the album and then the things I pick as B-sides aren't necessarily not the best; they are just, you know, maybe I don't like the lyrics, or the lyrics are great but I don't like the tune, or the tune is good but I don't like the singing, or there's just something and they're not perfect. But people hear them and go, 'God, I f--king love that.”

Speaking about ‘What’s The Story (Morning Glory?)’ and ‘Definitely Maybe’ being the two most streamed albums of the 1990s, National Album Day said: “It’s no surprise that ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’ and ‘Definitely Maybe’ are the two most streamed albums of the 1990s according to the Official Charts. For many, Oasis’ music was era-defining, but it also remains as relevant and contemporary as ever, finding new audiences as the next generation of fans discover and enjoy their now classic songs.”

On November 3rd, Big Brother Recordings Ltd will release limited-edition collector’s formats to celebrate the silver anniversary of ‘The Masterplan’, including CD, cream cassette, and limited-edition double vinyl formats (heavyweight silver, green and black marble and black). The new formats feature remastered audio, taken from the ‘Chasing The Sun’ reissues - available for the first time as one collection. Pre-order here.

‘The Masterplan’ is an extraordinary collection of B-sides originally featured on singles from Oasis’ first three albums. Far from being inferior to the A-sides they backed, many of the 14 tracks that feature on ‘The Masterplan’ have become as cherished as the band’s biggest hits from that seminal period. 

The album includes several landmark Oasis songs, tracks like ‘Acquiesce’, originally found on the ‘Some Might Say’ CD single and unforgettably co-sung by the Gallagher brothers, and ‘Half The World Away’, from the ‘Whatever’ CD single, which later found fame as the theme tune to the much-loved comedy series ‘The Royle Family’ - not to mention the epic title track, which originally appeared as the fourth bonus track on the ‘Wonderwall’ CD single. Noel has often described ‘The Masterplan’ as one of the best songs he has ever written.

The album charted at No.2 in the UK Official Album Chart UK selling almost 122,000 copies in its first week of release in 1998. ‘The Masterplan’ went on to be certified triple platinum and has sold over three million copies worldwide. 

Pre-order formats and listen to the album here. Watch the album trailer here

Visit www.oasisinet.com for details and follow #TheMasterplan25
Oasis – The Masterplan (Remastered Edition)


01 Acquiesce (Remastered)
02 Underneath The Sky (Remastered)
03 Talk Tonight (Remastered)
04 Going Nowhere (Remastered)
05 Fade Away (Remastered)
06 The Swamp Song (Remastered)
07 I Am The Walrus – Live Glasgow Cathouse June ‘94 (Remastered)
08 Listen Up (Remastered)
09 Rockin' Chair (Remastered)
10 Half The World Away (Remastered)
11 (It's Good) To Be Free (Remastered)
12 Stay Young (Remastered)
13 Headshrinker (Remastered)
14 The Masterplan (Remastered)

Oasis team up with National Album Day for new lyric video for ‘Listen Up’